• thriveopportunitie

Application and nomination process for the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

Applicants will be asked to make submissions related to the 2021 theme "Inclusive distance and digital literacy learning" and take into consideration the specific focuses of the two prizes when applying. Member States and International Non-Governmental Organizations which maintain official relations with UNESCO are invited to solicit and submit nominations for the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

The application process consists of two stages, an application and a nomination

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2021

Every year, UNESCO rewards six individuals or organizations for their outstanding projects that promote literacy learning. UNESCO International Literacy Prizes has two prestigious prizes namely: The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards) where the winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$20,000 and the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy where the winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$30,000. UNESCO supports effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literature societies to close the literacy gap of approximately 773 million people.

Who is eligible to apply?

  • Institutions, organizations and individuals promoting literacy through effective and innovative projects or programmes.

  • Eligible programmes or projects who have a proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years.

  • Programmes/projects that have not been awarded the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in the past five years.

How to submit the applications and nominations – two stages

The first stage is for an applicant to fill in and submit an application form through either a National Commission for UNESCO or an International Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) maintaining official relations with UNESCO.

The second stage is for the concerned National Commission or international NGO to review and nominate the successful candidatures to the Secretariat of the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.


" Lighting the candle of others won’t blow yours out " - Al