• thriveopportunitie

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards

The nomination period will open on January 1, 2021, and conclude at 23:00 GMT on June 30 2021.

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards recognize fundamental contributions in a broad array of areas of scientific knowledge, technology, humanities and artistic creation.


The disciplines and domains of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards are:

  1. Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics)

  2. Biology and Biomedicine

  3. Information and Communication Technologies

  4. Ecology and Conservation Biology

  5. Climate Change

  6. Economics, Finance and Management

  7. Humanities and Social Sciences

  8. Music and Opera

The Climate Change award recognizes both research endeavours in confronting this challenge and impactful actions informed by the best science. In Humanities and Social Sciences, the award will alternate annually between these two disciplinary domains, with this fourteenth edition dedicated to the Social Sciences. Finally, the Music and Opera category encompasses composition, instrumental and vocal performance, musical and stage direction, and video art creation associated with musical or operatic works.

Award Content

  • The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards consist of 400,000 euros, a diploma and a commemorative artwork in each of their eight categories.

  • In the event that an award is shared by more than one person, its monetary amount will be divided equally among all recipients.

  • All awards, in whatever category, will be subject to the withholding and other taxes prescribed by current legislation, which will be deducted from their total amount.

Candidate Requirements

  • Candidates may be one or more natural persons of any nationality, without limitation of a number, that have made independent or convergent contributions to a given advance, whether due to a formal collaboration (with the nominees belonging to one or more groups) or parallel working.

  • The awards are also open to scientific or cultural organizations that can be collectively credited with exceptional contributions to scientific knowledge, cultural creation or the fight against climate change.

  • Awards may not be granted posthumously.


Self-nomination is not permitted. Any scientific or cultural organization or institution can submit nominations, following their own internal procedures. Among them:

  • Scientific or artistic societies and organizations

  • National and regional academies of science or culture

  • Public or private R&D centres

  • University schools, departments or institutes and research or teaching institutes

  • Hospital departments and biomedical research centres

  • Schools of music

  • Orchestras, orchestra associations, opera theatres and opera associations

  • Public agencies and supranational, national or regional organizations substantially engaged in analysis and/or activities relating to climate change

  • Other scientific, cultural and environmental organizations

Winners of the Nobel Prize in any of its categories are likewise eligible to nominate, as are past winners of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards. The BBVA Foundation may also invite nominations from researchers and cultural creators that have made outstanding contributions in their respective fields, establishing consultative or advisory panels to this end. The same organization, institution or individual nominator may put forward more than one candidate without limitation of number, but no candidate may be nominated in more than one award category.

Entry, Submission and Documentation

All nominations should be submitted using the dedicated form which can be accessed through the ‘Nominate’ button located at the top of this website.

Both nominations and the accompanying documentation must be submitted in English only.

In the event that various organizations or individuals wish to jointly or coordinately submit a nomination, they should appoint a nomination coordinator who will merge all the materials into a single entry.

The nominating institution or individual must provide the following information and documentation, as specified at the above web address:

  1. Award category for which the candidate is nominated

  2. Name of the nominating institution and officer/body, with the corresponding contact data (postal and email address, plus landline and cell phone numbers)

  3. Letter of nomination signed by the nominating officer/body

  4. Candidate particulars including institutional affiliation and contact data

  5. Description of the salient contributions of the candidate and reasoned arguments for the nomination (maximum of three pages, single-spaced)

  6. Candidate’s curriculum vitae


Official Website

" Lighting the candle of others won’t blow yours out " - Al