• thriveopportunitie

TWAS - Mohammad A. Hamdan Award (The award, consisting of USD 5,000 and a certificate)


15 June 2020

This new award will be given for outstanding mathematical work carried out by a scientist working and living in Africa or Arab regions.

Starting from year 2020, this new award is named after TWAS’s late Vice President for the Arab Region, Prof. Hamdan.

As a Member of our Academy since 1988, Prof. Hamdan was deeply committed to the cause and objectives of TWAS and for many years he actively supported us and held the position of TWAS Vice-President for the Arab countries on the TWAS Council.

His true commitment to the cause and mission of TWAS in sustaining scientific capacity building in the developing world was so strong that he endowed a large sum to TWAS to establish an award in his name.


The award, consisting of USD 5,000 and a certificate, will be given every two years to a mathematical scientist working and living in Africa or Arab regions.

The award will be given for outstanding mathematical work (pure, applied, probability, statistics).

Eligible candidates are national of an African or Arab country, who have been living and working there for a minimum of two years immediately prior to their nomination.

Fellows of TWAS are not eligible. Self-nominations will not be considered.

How to nominate a scientist

Nomination dossiers, please refer to the file downloadable below, are to be submitted to: awards@twas.org by the given deadline.

Important information for the nominator:

  1. Please complete the nomination form electronically, save it in the format SURNAME_Initial.doc (e.g. SMITH_D.doc if the candidate’s name is David SMITH), and send it to: awards@twas.org with the subject: Mohammad A. Hamdan Award _ nomination for Dr. Surname.

  2. The following three documents must be attached to the e-mail message:

  • The nomination form;

  • The candidate's curriculum vitae, including a full list of publications

  • A supporting statement by the nominator

  1. Ask the nominee to send by email the following authorization to awards@twas.org: “In conformity with Article 13 of the Italian Legislative Decree 196/2003, I herewith authorize TWAS to process my personal data for the purposes of my nomination as a candidate for a TWAS Award.”

The subject of the email being: Mohammad A. Hamdan Award _ authorization by Dr. Surname.


Selection is made on scientific merit. A pre-screening of the nominees will be done at TWAS, The nomination dossiers of the qualified candidates will then be submitted to jury members for their evaluation.  

Eligible Nominees from

Algeria Angola Bahrain Benin Botswana Burkina Faso Burundi Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Rep. Chad Comoros Congo, Dem. Rep. Congo, Rep. Côte d'Ivoire Djibouti Egypt Eritrea Eswatini, Kingdom of Ethiopia Gabon Gambia Ghana Guinea Guinea Equatorial Guinea-Bissau Iraq Jordan Kenya Kuwait Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Madagascar Malawi Mali Mauritania Mauritius Morocco Mozambique Namibia Niger Nigeria Oman Palestine (West Bank and Gaza Strip) Qatar Rwanda São Tomé and Príncipe Saudi Arabia Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa South Sudan Sudan Syria Tanzania Togo Tunisia Uganda United Arab Emirates Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe


" Lighting the candle of others won’t blow yours out " - Al